(Editor’s Background Note: Democrat Councilman Vinnie Gentile recently helped obtain a $250,000 grant for a kayaking ‘base’ at the 69th St Pier. Over the years he and Rep-Con. Sen. Marty Golden have had a…uhh…complicated relationship. Did the following ‘column’ really appear in a Bay Ridge newspaper on April 1?)

As Sen. Golden 'trained' for the upcoming kayaking race by directing traffic on Third Ave....


…a confident Counilmen Gentile relaxed at a Bay Ridge Manor affair.


IN the spirit of this special day this writer has received exclusive word that Councilman Vinnie Gentile is putting his $250,000 69th St. pier kayaking grant to a very positive use.

“I’M hereby challenging Sen. Marty Golden to a kayaking race in the Narrows,” the Bay Ridge Councilman declared enthusiastically and exclusively to Focus earlier this week.

“FOR too long people here have been reminding me that Marty won our senate race several years back” he said. “They forget that I dethroned R-C. Sen. Robert DiCarlo and then defended my seat successfully against Bay Ridge legend Chris Mega,” a former assemblyman and senator, later a Supreme Court justice of Kings County.

“IN those early days, ” the municipal lawmaker noted waxing nostalgic” even the author of Focus regarded my political rise as a ‘breath of fresh air’ for the Bay Ridge community.”

“NOT only will I be vindicated when I win this kayak contest, I will show that kayaking is the transit mode of the future in Brooklyn.”said the councilman “And, the publicity we receive will put our kayak dock at the Pier on the map! We’re looking for nation-wide TV coverage here” he added.

“ALL of this will help make the 69th St. a recreation destination for kayakers throughout the entire metropolitan area!”

INITIALLY the councilman issued his challenge in person at the senator’s Fifth Ave. office where, oar in hand, amicably confronted John Quaglione, a top Golden staffer. “John was thoroughly accepting of the gauntlet thrown down by me in this most noteworthy cause,” the councilman told us.QUAGLIONE started out a little puzzled. At first, I thought he(the councilman) was kidding,” said a smiling Quaglione, “because, after all, this is April Fools time. Then, I recalled the councilman recently announced his kayaking grant so I immediately contacted Sen. Golden He happened to be driving wife Colleen (the Ragamuffin Parade President,) on a number of her errands along Third Avenue).

WHEN he returned Quaglione’s call a few minutes later, the senator and his wife were dining at one of Third Avenue’s fine gourmet restaurants.” Please don’t quote me on this but he loves those Third Avenue eateries “, Quaglione confided. ” And, of course he agreed to the kayaking challenge,” the aide continued. ”


Golden: Kayaking Event

“Great For Bay Ridge”

“THIS will be great for the community!” the one-time cop turned caterer/restaurateur/councilman/state senator told this writer, also on a press exclusive basis.

“I’m glad that Vinnie doesn’t harbor any ill feelings about that senatorial race,”said Golden. ” We’re both here to serve our constituents. And, a kayak race –from the 69th St. Pier out around the Verrazano Bridge and back– is just the kind of event which shows the interparty cooperation which is currently lacking between too many members of our respective parties.”

WHO will win? we asked the exuberant Golden. “Well, please don’t quote me on this but I will beat Vinnie by a good hundred yards or so. I ‘ve learned that he’s been undergoing extensive kayak training at an undisclosed upstate camp for the past two months. ”

“BUT, ” he explained, “I have extensive experience dealing with the treacherous currents in and around the pier area. As a boy –when the 69th St. Ferry was still operating by the way—don’t quote me on this– I would often dive off the pier and swim way out toward Staten Island.”

“OF course it was illegal and very risky, but it was fun on a hot Summer’s day for a bunch of Bay Ridge kids” he recalled fondly. “And I’m sure the survival experience I gleaned thereby will put me in very good stead when Vinnie and I face off in our respective kayaks

INFORMED ‘off the record’ of Golden’s certainty of victory, Councilman Gentile pooh-poohed the senator’s prediction. “Let’s face it”, he replied. “Marty’s (a little) older than I and I’m a former prosecutor and we’re known for our competitive zeal! And—don’t quote me on this– we now have a better health plan in case of an accident—no thanks to Cong. Mike McMahon!”

See “Verrazano Lifeway”
Open to Public Next April 1

REGARDLESS of who wins the big kayaking contest, both lawmakers have assured me that our long sought-after Verrazano Lifeway—which will bring better health to thousands of walkers, joggers and everyone else when it’s completed as part of the majestic Narrows span.

IN A rare joint communiqué Messrs Golden and Gentile stated that “We will always be indebted to those who have worked for years to garner public support and the necessary funding to complete the Lifeway fulfilling a promise that Builder Robert Moses broke almost 50 years ago.

HAVING collected thousands of signatures from those who want to see the Verrazano opened to pedestrians and bikers this writer was particularly elated to learn the much needed Verrazano Lifeway is about to become a reality.

SO we asked, when will the Lifeway be open to public use? Their reply was in unison: “When else–next April Fools Day!””